Kick-starting the Bucket List

by Mrs J

demo

I thought only my kids left patently inappropriate things out in the rain, blocked the toilet, and neglected to tell me they’d broken something… but apparently contractors do it too.

Time waits for no man (or woman) and we have just over a year left of our posting to Georgia. With this in mind I recently drew up a list of ‘Things To Do‘ before we leave – from paddling kayaks down our stretch of the Ocmulgee River, to a date night at the iconic Fox Theatre Atlanta. Last week, Prince performed there with just a mike and piano, in what would be his very last concert.

Yesterday evening I played Prince’s music videos to my children in the bath. They were born into a world of wifi and you tube, and will now grow up in a world without Prince, but hopefully they will now remember the day this music legend died.

Parting is such sweet sorrow. Which is why I have spent the last six weeks renovating an investment property – at the expense of my nails, morning jog and weekly blog. The thought of saying goodbye to the wonderful friends we have made, not to mention the winter sunshine, set me on two year search to find a little piece of Georgia we could return to in years to come.

Georgia can now be part of our retirement plan, relieving me of the dread of long, grey British winters and tearful farewells. And hopefully by the time we come back our local Ocmulgee National Monument will be part of Georgia’s first National Park!

We have loved the mountains, the beaches, the peaches, the quirky festivals and antique malls too much to turn our backs and leave forever. We have loved just about every moment of our first two and a half years here with the exception of the Red Tape

So, until next summer we will keep packing in the sights, sounds and smells of Georgia, with turtles hatching on the beach, the Morehouse College Glee Club, and attending the Vidalia (sweet) Onion Festival being just a few of the things on our ‘Georgia Bucket List’.

I remain confident we can complete our posting and still have Never Eaten McDonalds.

 

PLEASE NOTE If you wish to use my blog in any form you must contact me for permission. Thank you.